Blog Numero Dos

(Up to Thoreau) At this point, I’ve come to realize that the subject of politics isn’t just limited to political parties and the social manipulation that can accompany them. Instead, the subject can reference to the basic social interactions that the people have with each other on a daily basis that can be shaped through a set of subtle factors, most of which that can be traced back to the wants and desires of a government or central authority. Kincaid tells her readers of the subtle indoctrination that British occupied states undergo through a devaluation of their own culture in favor of Britain’s own, which makes holding indoctrination easier for the ruler. Swift satirically suggests a complete overhaul of society that revolves around sacrifice and population control under the guise of resource management. Hedges discusses the processes by which a government can shape and motivate its people to undertake massive and polarizing endeavors, like a war, even if a majority of people don’t support the act in the first place. Goldsmith offers a brief commentary about how some people can be blinded by the presence of nationalism and patriotism to value other cultures, which may have different motives than the natural government. Woolf discusses the elevation of people and their internal desires which can be shaped and melded by a government to fit its own wants and needs, looking at Hitler and Nazi Germany in specific.
I definitely enjoyed (reading at least) this set of writings, minus Kincaid. Swift was a hilarious yet terrifying read whose logical suggestions were heavily against moral and ethical concerns, but one that really could open up my mind to the social implications and overall effect on politics that such a radical suggestion would entail. I loved reading Hedges, as his discussion of war and the shaping of countries is a subject that I have read much about in the past, through war memoirs from WWII and Africa. But as much as I loved his reading, it terrified me nonetheless, as it was social manipulation and even dehumanization to almost an exact science. I didn’t really react as well to Goldsmith or Woolf, because even though both propose great ideas and ask relevant questions, their writing style just didn’t seem to inspire me. Goldsmith was very straightforward and didn’t really provoke me, while Woolf started strong then devolved (not in a bad way, but it de-escalated my emotion) into a set of scenes and images after getting the main point across. I straight up did not enjoy Kincaid as I felt like all she did was repeat her main point over and over again, and while her ideas are perfectly valid, I just felt like they were beaten into my head, which isn’t an effective way to convince someone to adopt a new style of thinking, even if I already agreed with her principles.
Overall, I must say that I am more than satisfied with my group. It’s really pleasant to be part of a group where everyone carries their own weight and the overall quality is very high for each portion of the work. It’s getting to the point where I start to wonder if my work becomes the weak link, which is good and bad for its own reasons, but I’ll take it. Although, if Liam tells me how much he adores me one more time, I think I might snap.

Leave a Reply

